My New Romance Project

I’m two-thirds done with the first draft of a new novel!

It’s a queer erotic romance with strange fiction elements. The working title is Love Ritual. It’s a book I wish I could read, so I decided to write it. Follow what inspires you, as they say. This inspires me. It’s fun and escapist, and hopefully sexy.

Botanical-Floral-World-and-Garden-Guide-1878-Paul-Neron

I needed a light break from Brief Pose‘s themes of depression and insanity. I love Brief Pose, but it took a lot out of me to write.

Queer speculative fiction is often dark and unsettling and angsty. That includes Brief Pose. There is a place for that, but I wanted to write something that was sexual, explicit, and had speculative fiction elements, but wasn’t dark or violent or full of self-loathing.

I wanted to write something full of light.  (Though the final draft may have a few more shadows than I originally planned.)

This book is about falling in love and how sex is part of that process. It’s also about writing and the magic of nature.

I’m hoping Love Ritual is simpler than some of my previous work and won’t take years to write. Now to finish the draft.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

