Social Media and the Election

Twitter and Facebook (and the internet in general) have been killing my productivity lately, mainly because of this crazy U.S. election and the pressing issue of climate change.

People are starting to catch on that our elections have been rigged to further corporate interests. Our mainstream media has little integrity left, and with the rise of the internet, people are noticing. Add to that the insanity of Trump and the corruption and scandals of Hillary, and it’s easy to get lost in all the chatter and lose most of the day.

Design-Apparel-Hat-Invisibles-Tete-a-Tete-

At the Universty of Oregon, I majored in Sociology and specialized in these types of issues. Capitalism and its effect on politics and the climate have always fascinated me. They are the most pressing problems we must face as a species, now and into the future, and I realized this back in the 90s when I was in high school. That was more than seventeen years ago, and we haven’t made much progress. But I have learned a lot since then.

Sometimes it’s hard to resist telling people what I’ve learned. Especially when the stakes are so high, but maybe tweeting about it all day isn’t the solution.

If you are interested in climate change too, I highly recommend Naomi Klein’s This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate. This book is an excellent primer and a fascinating read.

For awhile, at least, I’m limiting my time on the internet and getting some writing done, for my mental health, if for nothing else.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

