The Time It Takes

Can you believe I’ve been writing for 20 years? I started the book I’m currently finishing up, House of Cabal Volume Two: Estate, more than 16 years go. No wonder I’m motivated to publish a lot of books this year. The one I’m publishing this summer, Brief Pose, I started more than 10 years ago as a screenplay.

I think I’m finally coming into my own, but it has taken me a long time, a lot longer than I originally envisioned. When you start, you really don’t know how much you don’t know. I thought I would finish a great novel fresh out of high school.

Between then and now, I’ve improved greatly. I can write faster with a higher first draft quality. Studying screenwriting has helped me with dialogue and plot structure. Time, writing, and reading has just made be a better writer all the way around.

Writing blog posts seems to be helping too. It’s something I wasn’t able to do before. The rewrites of each post would have taken too long to be worthwhile. Now writing out a quick post each day is no big deal, just a few thoughts typed out.

Hopefully my blogging skills will continue to improve as I do this every day. It’s a slightly different skill set, and I don’t have that much practice with nonfiction. It helps that I don’t have any goals for the blog, except to see were it takes me.

Thank you for reading my posts and being here for my progress.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “The Time It Takes”

  1. LionAroundWriting says :

    Good luck with your work.
    The great thing about writing is we can have half a book or screenplay lying about for a decade and still use it. I go over some older stuff every now and again and it often gets used. And somethimes it doesn’t happen straight away. I thought my screenplay would be finished ten years ago. It’s still there though, waiting at the door.

    • wesleymccraw says :

      Good luck with your work too. It can take a lot of time to rewrite old stuff, but it can be worth it if the idea is good enough. As long as you still finish things, I think letting things gestate can be a powerful technique.

Leave a Reply

