Self-Publishing Indie Author

All my savings will be going into the copy-editing of my books over the next two years. If I can’t make the money back, I’ll have to find a day job, which will seriously cut into my writing time.

I have two books out now, The Forgiving and House of Cabal: Eden, and I hope to have at least two more books out by the end of the year, maybe three.

If I’m not turning some kind of profit by early 2017, I’ll be in trouble.

Mythology-PhoenixThese are early days, but I still get anxious about the future of my writing career. I’ll need money to keep releasing books, but more than that, I need readers to spread the word. I just have to keep writing and releasing amazing books and hope my writing catches on. The greater the number of amazing books I release, the better chance I have of that happening. Word of mouth is really everything in indie publishing. Remember that when you finish reading a good book.

Like every writer, I don’t really like connecting my art to money, but as a self-publishing indie author, it’s kind of my job.

This year I’ll also be submitting Lovecraftian short stories wherever I can in hopes of building an audience.  One story is the “The Ovum Horror,” the short story I give away when you sign up for my mailing list. I’m actually rewriting it a bit right now. There are just a few things that weren’t working that needed to be fixed. By next year, I should have a book’s worth of Lovecraftian short stories to publish in a collection called The Queen in Yellow.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

