Day 4 of 9: Rest is for the Writer

Take naps as needed.

Botanical-Floral-World-and-Garden-Guide-1878-Paul-NeronIt’s better to take a rest break than to keep struggling when your mind has stopped working. I’ve found I’m sharp in the morning and by mid-afternoon, around two, I become useless.

That’s when I go for a walk, read a book, and eat lunch. Then I test if I’m up for writing again. Often I’m not. I do other things until I’m tired and then try to sleep a while. Once I’m awake again, I’m often good to write for a night session, another few hours until I’m sleepy again.

This is obviously different for everyone. Rest and writing times are something you have to experiment with to find something that works for you.

Current draft status: The first four chapters are mostly finished, chapter five is now in good shape, and I’ve already started on chapter six.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

