Day 2 of 9: Coffee Shop Writing

As a way to focus it is often advisable to write in different locations. While there is something to be said for the routine of a regular workspace, I haven’t mastered that routine, so sometimes it helps me to go to a place I don’t normally write, such as a coffee shop. A coffee shop forces me to focus on writing because of the new stimulus around me.

This seems counter-intuitive, but the low-level static of a new (or relatively new) environment makes you choose what you are focusing on while you shut everything else out. When I am in a familiar environment my mind can start to drift and long for stimulation beyond the act of writing. When my mind is in a stimulating environment I just want to shut out the noise and focus on my work.

Also, when I write in a different place, I always know the reason why I’m there: to get work down. It’s harder to go out of your way to find a place to write and then just surf the internet.

Current draft status: The first three chapters are mostly done, six to go.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Day 3 of 9: Learn from Yesteday | Self Write - February 3, 2016

Leave a Reply

