Writing Progress (House of Cabal Volume One)

I’m not blogging every day. Still, I’m actually blogging, so I call that a win. Removing the restrictions and just going with whatever strikes me seems to be working.

Today I received feedback on the first volume of my House of Cabal series. I’ve been working on this one for a long time, but it’s in the final stages. A few tweaks and it should be ready for a copy editor.

I’m still thinking over the cover.

HouseofCabalVol1

As you may have noticed, I’ve decided to change from episodes to volumes. “Episode” felt too slight. I think people are used to books using episodic storytelling and calling each book an episode felt too gimmicky to me. Mimicking the way comic books do trade paperbacks seems like the best way to go for this series. The book has that sort of speculative-fiction comic-book feel to it, so I think “volume” fits the overall aesthetic. I also like the idea of the spines lined up: Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3.

House of Cabal Vol. 2 is also getting closer to a new finished draft.

I’ve grown a lot as a writer and it is taking some work to have the text (having been written over so many years) reflect that growth. The dialogue definitely needed an overhaul, something I hadn’t really changed dramatically for years. All together some heartening progress.

Tags: , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

