House of Cabal WIP

Today I’m working on an early section of House of Cabal Episode Two.

The first episode establishes Everett’s desperate need to change his life. The second episode must quickly reestablish that driving motivation before moving on with the plot. At the same time, Everett’s narration has to maintain a conversational, confessional tone, with enough subtext to keep it interesting. Here is a paragraph I’m currently working on. Keep in mind that it is a work in progress.

I was too guarded to ever really love her. I realize that now. If she ever loved me, it wasn’t really me that she loved, it was a fictional idea of me. Yeah, everyone feels like that, but for me, it’s true. I’m not saying it was all her fault, but I always felt like a cog in her life plan. I had qualities in the plus column: handsome, a dependable career path, faithful and subservient. She will switch me out with another handsome-husband cog and her life plan will be back on track. As she would say, easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Tags: ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

