Maybe a Bad Idea, But What Do I Have to Lose?

I was going to learn to code, but I guess I’ll try mastering the English language first.

I have this crazy idea. I’ll become my own copy editor. It will take time and daily study. I’ll have to master a craft that is not one of my natural gifts. Not by a long shot. It will be a struggle. Hopefully it will pay off.

The worst that could happen is I become better at grammar, and I still have to hire an editor anyway.

I just can’t pay to have three novels edited in one year. Especially if there might not be a return on my investment. I can either get a job just so I can pay a copy editor potentially thousands of dollars, or I can use that time to master proofreading myself.

These are the decisions you have to make when you are your own publisher and your publisher is flat broke.

Note: It is pretty much universal self-publishing advice to at the very least hire a copy editor, so use this post with caution.

Tags: , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

