Mr. Benson Extreme

I’m reading Mr. Benson and it’s a bit extreme. I keep telling myself they are only words on a page. It’s a gay S&M classic with things in it I would rather not picture. It reminds me of a good horror book in that way. It is not Fifty Shades of Grey.

308937If you have no idea what S&M is, here is the wiki on Sadomasochism.

My next novel explores some S&M and BDSM ideas and I’m trying to educate myself so I don’t sound like an idiot. S&M is not normally my thing, but I’m a writer: I often go into personally uncomfortable territory. It’s the kind of writing I like to read, writing with an edge, but it can singe your eyebrows a bit.

Slave/master relationships disturb me, especially when it gets into heavy humiliation, but I’m trying not to judge. Some people are disturbed by same-sex relationships, while to me that feels first nature.

I’m starting to understand why S&M was included under the queer rubric. Consenting adults have the right to do what they please, even if others don’t understand. Even if those consenting adults are straight.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

