In Bed

I’m normally up around seven, but today I didn’t get out of bed until noon.

I wasn’t sleeping. I just needed some time to think. I needed time away from my family (my mother and brother), who I recently moved in with and who are giving me grief. They want me to help them to be healthier and to live better lives, but they want to do all the same things they have always done. They want to eat better, but they want to buy all the same foods. They want better communication, but they don’t think they ever do anything wrong.

People don’t change, unless they want to change. This isn’t a new idea. I can try to help my mom and brother, but I think it is better to focus on changing myself instead. Help can hold people back.

And I only have so much energy in the day. I cook healthy meals for them and go for walks with them and try to get them to get exercise and try to get them to de-clutter their house and everything else, and that doesn’t leave me much energy to be a productive artist.

So I think I’m done offering them advice and prompting them to do healthy things. I moved in with my mom to help her with her diabetes, she mainly needed to get more exercise and eat better, but I think I’ve done what I can. It’s time for her to step up and take charge of her own health. I can’t do it for her. At the end of the day, she is responsible for her own life.

In other words, I’m going to be blogging again, and refocusing on writing and visual media. Expect to see a lot more posts here soon.

Tags: , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

