Vampire Fiction

I’m working on an erotic, sci-fi, vampire short story.

To be clear, I’m bored with vampire fiction, about as much as I’m bored with zombie fiction. But it’s not the vampire’s fault.

William-Adolphe Bouguereau, Dante and Virgil in Hell, 1850

William-Adolphe Bouguereau, Dante and Virgil in Hell, 1850

As you all know, the Twilight craze has flooded the market with bad vampire stories. I feel it’s tragic that Twilight is a source of inspiration for any writer (I’m looking at you Fifty Shades of Gray), but I can respect that Twilight and its offspring tap into a particular fantasy fulfillment that has mass appeal. Escapism has its place. But could our aspirations be a little grander please than Twilight fan fiction. Even if it sells a million copies.

My vampire story will be my small attempt at reclaiming vampire fiction back from the long shadow of Twilight. That attempt will not be to make vampires scary again, or bringing them back to their roots. Many writes have done this, and if you like, you can just read Dracula.

William-Adolphe_Bouguereau_Dante_And_Virgil_In_Hell_(1850)My goal is to make vampires subversive again.

Despite the fact I’m not a huge fan of vampires, one of my favorite shows is Buffy. Angel is also up there. Vampire Diaries is one of the better shows on TV right now. Even True Blood has its great moments. The vampire can still take flight in our imaginations, even with all its baggage.

Clive Barker twisted a lot of old ideas into new ideas in his short story collections. The results changed horror fiction forever. I doubt my attempt will be as successful, but at the very least it’s my turn to try.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

