Writing a Book Description

One great thing about self-publishing is you can keep rewriting your sales copy until you hit on something that sells.

It’s time for me to write a better book description. Right now on Amazon and Smashwords, I start off with a short blurb:

Three lovers, as a way to save cash, seek out a real estate agency that specializes in poltergeist activity. What they find in their prospective house will test their faith in God and their faith in each other.

Then I have the very beginning of my book, which is an explanation of the Jacobi House, the house the book revolves around. It was always meant to be a placeholder until I could write a more persuasive book description.

After looking at some other horror novel book descriptions on Amazon, I took a new stab at my own, writing the first thing that came to mind, and I like it, at least more than I thought I would. As always, I would love your thoughts on it. Especially before I put it up for the whole world to see.

Portland, Oregon, has many famously haunted locations, but Howard, Isabel, and Grip are steadfast skeptics. For these three lovers building a new life together, there is no such thing as a haunted house, so why not capitalize on other people’s superstitions and buy a mansion on the waterfront at a fraction of its market value?

What could it hurt to at least take a tour?

Life isn’t a horror novel, and a house’s dark history is not its present. A house that was a brothel, then an insane asylum, and then a cult church is still just a house.

The three lovers don’t realize one flaw in their logic: the present can be even worse than the past.

Reality can be more horrific than any ghost story.

The problem with writing these things is I end up overworking them to death. I’ll let this one live for awhile and look at it again with fresh eyes in a few days.

Until then, happy writing and even happier publishing.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

