The Horror Genre

If you have read my first novel, The Forgiving, you will notice that there is a preview of my next novel, House of Cabal, at the end.

I should focus on getting my first novel in readers’ hands, but at the same time, I need to get more than one book on the market. From what I’ve read, each book you release helps sell the others. Plus, I’m first and foremost a writer. That means I write. Book after book after book.

House of Cabal is a tricky beast. It has horror elements, but it is more than horror. It is unrestricted speculative fiction. I like fiction without boundaries, having grown up on Clive Barker, and I want to write what I love. It could be argued that The Forgiving isn’t exactly straight forward horror either, but it plays in the genre enough to fit into the category comfortably.

This is the question: Should I classify The Forgiving as horror? Is that a wise marketing decision? I don’t usually seek out horror to read, but I love fiction with horror elements. The horror label might make people assume it’s about gore, or depravity, or sadism. The book is actually about love.

People who have mixed feelings about horror can still enjoy The Forgiving. I would consider it dark general fiction. But is that a good way to market a book? The goal of the book isn’t a feel good ending, and I want that clear to the reader upfront. But hopefully, my book is more than just fear.

Obviously, not the questions I was thinking about while I was writing the book.

Self-publishing means I’m more than a writer. As you may have noticed, I’m floundering a bit under this new mantel of publisher/marketer, but this is what I signed up for. I didn’t expect to be an expert in the beginning, and now I get to find out I was right.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

