How to Market a Horror Novel

Now I need to figure out how to market my horror novel, The Forgiving. This is going to be tricky.

Step one: write a kick ass book. I’ve done that (including hiring a proofreader).

Step two: the pre-publishing work of writing this blog and interacting on twitter to create a platform. I’ve done that too, though not very successfully. My blog traffic is relatively pathetic and few people respond to my twitter posts.

Step three: release The Forgiving on Smashwords and Amazon. I’ve done Smashwords (you can buy the book here), with only Amazon to go. This step included making a professional looking cover and writing a brief pitch:

Three lovers, as a way to save cash, seek out a real estate agency that specializes in poltergeist activity. What they find in their prospective house will test their faith in God and their faith in each other.

Now the path is getting a little fuzzy. I know I need to get blogs to review my book and that I should have a release event, and that the reviews should be timed so that they line up with this magical release date, but how do I do that?

Getting blogs to review my book is exactly like querying agents and publishers: it sucks. I’m not a salesperson. But I am, because I’m self-publishing and that means every job is my job. All I can do is politely ask, and if anyone wants to review my book they can. There are a lot of blogs. It’s a numbers game, and I’m going to win if I contact enough of them.

How much time should I give reviewers to review my book? I guess I’m just going to pick a random date and go with it. How about Sunday, September 1st? That sounds like a good release date to me. I just need to get as my reviews as possible to go up around that time. Simple enough.

One step at a time.

Breathe.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

