My Voice is Enough

When do you stop working on old work?

I want to finish my novels and get them out to readers. That is the whole point of being a writer, right? But first, I want to get each novel perfect enough so that I can hire a proofreader for a final polish (instead of a copy editor, which would cost too much). The cost of a proofreader is enough so that I can only do it once per novel, at least until I have a better income, so each novel needs to be in its final state before the proofread. By monkey around with it afterwards I’ll just add back in the errors.

I started the book I’m currently rewriting thirteen years ago. Obviously, I’ve grown as a writer since then, thus the rewrite. This seems like a ridiculously long time to write a novel. It is true I’ve written a lot of other things since then, but still. Enough is enough.

But what is enough?

During this new rewrite I think I found an answer.

I think I’m done with a novel or a project when I say what I want to say. This means I need to know what I want to say and how I want to say it. I think I’ve finally been able to find those two things. I think it may have taken me up until this point in my life to find my voice.

Here is to hoping.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

