Book Episodes

Progress: The Forgiving is 37,500 words now, aiming for 42,000, might end up being about 45,000.

As my horror novel comes closer to completion, I’ve been thinking about how I want to release the book I’ve already written. As an indie publisher, I have complete control over the rollout, so let’s get creative.

I’m thinking about splitting up my novel, House of Cabal, into at least two episodes. Here are some of the pros to this:

  1. Each episode would still be over 50,000 words, a comfortable size for release.
  2. I could sell each episode for a dollar, a more attractive price point.
  3. I could give away the first episode for free on Smashwords to anyone who requested a coupon.
  4. This would give me more books in my back list.
  5. It would help make the next episode a little less daunting. 50,000 words is a lot easier to handle than 100,000+.
  6. Lower editing cost per book. Most copy-editors charge by the word, and so editing 100,000 words is a big investment for a beginning writer who should only charge a dollar for each book.
  7. Later I could sell the episodes together as a single volume.

The Cons:

  1. Each episode might not provide enough resolution for readers.
  2. The episodes wouldn’t be able to stand alone and be purchased out of order.
  3. More book covers to create or pay for.

It seems like there are more pros.

I still think I’ll release The Forgiving first, and as that rolls out, I’ll start writing episode three of House of Cabal. Having my first book be a complete story, not a series, seems like a wise idea. As the first two episodes of House of Cabal are released, I should have time to complete the third episode.

That’s the plan right now anyway. We’ll see if this plan changes after I’ve finished The Forgiving and done more research on book releasing.

Happy writing.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

