Indie Publishing

Self-publishing can also be called indie publishing. It sounds more punk rock. It has a little less of the shame “self-publishing” drags around. Feel the pride rising.

What is it, 400,000 indie books are published every month? I heard that somewhere. That’s a lot of books! I guess each book released is sold an average of four times per month. Factor in the best sellers and that means many aren’t sold at all.

Even if these numbers are off, the point that indie publishing is a lot like normal publishing still stands: the readers are out there, but they need to choose your book out of the millions released this year and the countless millions released in the years prior.

That is very intimidating, to compete with every book available. I have a Kindle full of books I want to read and none of them came out last month and very few came out last year. In the coming year, I’m going to figure out how to compete.

The first thing I’ve learned, lesson one, those other books aren’t bad guys. We aren’t enemies; we are comrades on the field of battle. Those other writers, those other books, they can help me reach readers, and I can return the favor.

Tags: ,

About wesleymccraw

I’m a speculative fiction writer. My first book is The Forgiving. You can buy it at Amazon. https://selfwrite.wordpress.com/

One response to “Indie Publishing”

  1. Matt Knox says :

    Good post 🙂

Leave a Reply

